SEMPER FI MARINES AND MERRY CHRISTMAS to ALL MILITARY AND A BIG THANK YOU!
A Different Christmas Poem

The
embers glowed softly, and in their dim light,

I gazed round the
room and I cherished
the sight.

My wife was asleep,
her head on my
chest,

My daughter beside
me, angelic in
rest.

Outside the snow fell, a blanket of
white,

Transforming the
yard to a winter
delight.
The sparkling lights in the tree I believe,

Completed the magic
that was Christmas
Eve.

My eyelids were heavy, my
breathing was deep,

Secure and
surrounded by love I would
sleep.

In perfect
contentment, or so it would
seem,
So slumbered I,
perhaps I started to
dream. The sound wasn’t loud, and it wasn’t too near,

But I opened my
eyes when it tickled
my ear.

Perhaps just a cough, I didn’t quite
know,    Then
the sure
sound of footsteps outside in the
snow. My soul gave a tremble, I struggled to hear,

And I crept to the
door just to see
who was near.

Standing out in the cold and the dark of the night,

A lone figure
stood, his face weary
and tight.

A soldier, I puzzled, some twenty years old,

Perhaps a Trooper,
huddled here in the
cold.

Alone in the dark, he looked up and smiled,

Standing watch over
me, and my wife
and my child.

“What are you doing?” I asked without fear,

“Come in this
moment. It’s
freezing out here!

Put down your pack, brush the snow from your sleeve,

You should be at home on
a cold Christmas
Eve!”

 

For barely a moment I saw his eyes shift,

Away from the cold
and the snow blown
in drifts.

To the window that danced with a warm fire’s light

Then he sighed and he
said, “It’s
really all right,

I’m out here by
choice. I’m here every
night.”

 

“It’s my duty to stand at the front of the
line,

That separates you
from the darkest of
times.

No one had to ask or beg or implore me,

I’m proud to
stand here like my
fathers before me.

My Gramps died in
Europe
on a day in December,”

Then he
said,
“That’s a
Christmas ‘Gram always remembers.”

 

I’ve not seen
my own son in more than
a while,

But my wife sends
me pictures. He’s
sure got her smile.

Then he bent and he carefully pulled from his bag,

The red, white, and
Blue American
Flag.

I can live through
the cold and the
being alone,

Away from my
family, my house and my
home.

I can stand at my
post through the
rain and the sleet,

I can sleep in a
foxhole with little to
eat.

I can carry the
weight of killing
another,

Or lay down my life
with my sister and
brother.

Who stand at the
front against any and
all,

To ensure for all
time that this flag
will not fall.”
“So go back inside,” he said, “harbor no
fright,

Your family is waiting
and I’ll be all
right.”

“But isn’t
there something I can
do, at the least,

“Give you
money,” I asked,
“or prepare you a feast?

It seems all too little
for all that you’ve
done,

For being away from your
wife and your
son.”

Then his eye welled a
tear that held no
regret,

“Just tell us
you love us, and

never forget.

To fight for our rights back at home while we’re
gone,

To stand your own
watch, no matter how
long.

For when we come
home, either standing
or dead,

To know you remember we
fought and we bled.

Is payment enough, and
with that we will
trust,

That we mattered to you as you
mattered to
us.”

 

Let’s try in this
small way to pay a tiny bit of what we
owe.
Make
people
stop and think of our heroes, living and dead, who
sacrificed

themselves for us. And let’s to it every day!

author unknown

 

 

 

 

